Publication Award

Call for Nominations

Dear scholars in post-1945 music,

Please consider submitting your published articles or book chapters for consideration for the SMT Post-1945 Music Analysis Interest Group Publication Award.

Any peer-reviewed article or book chapter published between January 2018 and December 2020 on analysis of post-1945 music within modernist, experimental, avant-garde and related musical discourses is eligible. A substantial work of scholarship that engages with a wide literature but is not formally peer-reviewed may be considered at the discretion of the committee. Previous award recipients are ineligible to compete for the same award in subsequent years. We strongly encourage nominations by and about scholars/artists of color and other underrepresented groups. Self-nominations are welcome.

Please send your submission as a pdf attachment to Amy Bauer at abauer[at]uci[dot]edu no later than January 15, 2021.

With best wishes,
Antares Boyle and Laura Emmery
SMT Post-1945 Music Analysis Interest Group, co-chairs

2021 SMT Post-1945 Music Analysis IG Publications Committee:
Amy Bauer (University of California, Irvine), Chair
Philip Rupprecht (Duke University), 2020 award winner
William Ayers (University of Central Florida)

Past Awards

The first annual Post-1945 Music Analysis IG Publication Award was awarded to Philip Rupprecht for his article, “Rhythmic Dignity: Motive, Signal, and Flux in the Music of James Dillon.” Musiktheorie, vol. 34, no. 4, 2019, pp. 347–76.

2020 SMT Post-1945 Music Analysis IG Publications Committee:
Brian Moseley (University of Buffalo), Chair
Judith Lochhead (Stony Brook University)
George Adams (University of Chicago)